Unlike the other four of the "Big Five" revolutionary sacred sites, Jinggangshan could not be captured by a single photographic image that was easy to recognise and easy to copy. Consequently, depictions of this revolutionary base area on Maozhang vary considerably. Instead of attempting realism, as with Shaoshan, Zunyi, Yan'an and Tiananmen, Jinggangshan was usually represented by a graphic icon of stylized mountains, often rising above equally stylized clouds. The more geographically correct of these icons showed five distinct peaks, and the most politically correct showed a red flag flying from the highest summit.

jgs2 h45 w43 9.1g jgscap 38mm  5.6g jgs5 h39 w38 5.5g jgs7 42mm  5.6g jgs1 33mm 3.0g jgs4 h40 w40 4.4g

33mm   3.0g

42mm   5.6g

h. 39mm  w.37mm   5.5g

40mm   4.4g

38mm   5.6g

h. 45mm  w.43mm   9.1g